On-road mishaps in Glenwood Springs often cause unexpected disasters. Since Colorado is a tort state, the driver responsible for causing the auto accident is liable for your losses. You can choose to sue them in the civil court and get compensation for your losses. Before you start anything, read some of the key details mentioned below along with tips for hiring a Glenwood Springs auto accident attorney.
What to do right after?
Don’t leave the accident scene right away. Call 911 if someone is in need of urgent medical care and inform the police. If you are hurt, check with an injury doctor. When at the scene, document details through videos and pictures. Also, swap key details with other drivers, such as insurance info and license specifics. Note down all that you can remember and take contact details of witnesses at the scene 7hdstar.
Filing a car accident lawsuit
For most circumstances, Colorado’s statute of limitations offers a deadline of three years. If you want to file a car accident lawsuit, you should do so within three years from the date of the accident. If someone was killed in the crash, the immediate family could file a wrongful death case within two years. Note that the deadline in such starts from the date of death, which could be a later date than when the accident happened.
Comparative fault in Colorado
Colorado follows the modified comparative fault rule. You can only sue a party for their negligence in causing the accident if your fault share is not more isohunt than theirs. As you are also partly responsible for the crash, you would lose a share of the settlement you win, depending on your corresponding fault share. For example, if you were 40% at fault and won $100,000 in a settlement, you can still recover $60,000.
Choose the right accident attorney
Winning your case would be a lot simpler with an accident attorney on your side. If you are looking for a reliable law firm, we would recommend that you check its profile in depth. Hire a PI lawyer who has experience working on auto accident claims and lawsuits and has been to court. An accident attorney with trial experience wouldn’t step back from doing the right thing.
Also, make sure that you don’t have to pay the lawyer right away. Most attorneys take a contingency fee for auto accident cases in Glenwood Springs. Call a lawyer now.